Astronomical Association of Northern California

Each year the AANC recognizes significant contributions to Amateur Astronomy with several awards. This year the awards have been given to several astronomers known well to the SJAA.

Ed Erbeck, our SJAA "CEO" and known to thousands as Crazy Ed of Crazy Ed Optical, was selected as the Commercial Astronomer of the year. Ed is well known not only to the SJAA but to countless legions of amateur telescope makers.

Denni Medlock was selected as Amateur Astronomer of the year. Not only was Denni active in the founding of the AANC, Fremont Peak Observatory Association and the Group 70 project, she was active in the SJAA - serving as vice president and newsletter editor. She is also a recipient of the A. B. Gregory Award of the SJAA. Much more than an amateur astronomer, Denni is an inspiration to many. She was also recognized this year by the Eastbay Astronomical Society, who awarded her the prestigious Helen Pillans Award.

The Professional Astronomer of the Year award goes to Dr. Peter Jenniskens, of the SETI Institiute. Dr. Peter is also well known to Bay Area Amateurs, and particularly to the SJAA for his meteor observing and counting projects.

A special award was also given to the Mount Tamalpais Interpretive Association for ten years of public astronomy programs on Mount Tamalpais. Each month during spring, summer and fall, notable astronomers trek to the WPA era stone-seated Mountain Theatre to share their knowledge and insight with the public.

Congratulations to this years recipients!

last updated: October 03, 2007 Prev Next